Writing to develop tension

soldaten1

Some of my students have been asking about tension in writing and how best to recognise the devices by which it is created.

I wrote the attached file recently to try to highlight this technique. I do not claim it as a great piece of writing, but it is, at least, true. If anyone who reads this was in The Theatre Royal, Newcastle for that performance, little did you know! Still, 23 years later, I am able to use the experience in a way I never imagined at the time.

Feel free to use the resource if you wish to do so.
tension_model_para

The annotations don’t replicate on the iPhone. Sorry!

13 Comments

Filed under EDEXCEL CERTIFICATE, EDEXCEL CERTIFICATE, GCSE support, IGCSE support, teacher training, writing skills

13 responses to “Writing to develop tension

  1. I savor, result in I found just what I used to be taking a look for.
    You’ve ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  2. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    However, how can we communicate?

  3. Hi there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?

    Thanks for your time!

    • I suggest you use the links form the blog. Most of my links relate to paedagogy rather than to direct resources. You could try the UCGS English Department You tube page and link also to the wonderful teaching GCSE videos found by following MrBruff on YouTube and on Twitter.

  4. I’m not sure why but this site is loading extremely slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end?

    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  5. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads.

    I hope to give a contribution & aid different customers like
    its aided me. Good job.

  6. Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate
    your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  7. Hello, its pleasant paragraph about media print, we all be aware of media is a great source of data.

  8. I enjoy what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the great works guys I’ve added you guys to my personal
    blogroll.

  9. Quality articles or reviews is the secret to
    interest the people to go to see the web page, that’s what this web site is providing.

  10. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you could be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog
    and will often come back sometime soon. I want to
    encourage you continue your great writing, have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

